WhatsApp Group Join Now

The National Capital Region (NCR) is a metropolitan area that includes the city of Delhi and its surrounding areas. It is one of the most populous regions in the world, with a population of over 28 million people. The NCR was created in 1985 by the Indian government to help manage the rapid growth of Delhi and its surrounding areas.

The city of Delhi is divided into two parts: Old Delhi and New Delhi. Old Delhi is the original city, which was founded in the 17th century by the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan. New Delhi is the newer part of the city, which was built by the British in the early 20th century.

What is called Old Delhi?

Old Delhi is also known as Shahjahanabad, which was the name given to it by the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan when he founded it in the 17th century. Old Delhi is a walled city, and it is home to many historical monuments, including the Red Fort, Jama Masjid, and the Qutub Minar.

Differences between NCR, Delhi and New Delhi

CharacteristicNCRDelhiOld Delhi
PopulationOver 28 millionOver 16.8 millionOver 11 million
Area34,144 square kilometers1,484 square kilometers110 square kilometers
Notable featuresMetropolitan area, rapid growthHistorical monuments, cultural diversityWalled city, historical monuments

Also Read: ChatGPT App: Engaging and Informative Conversations with a Powerful Language Model Now Available in 12 Countries

What are the 3 states of NCR?

There are 3 states in NCR: Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, and Rajasthan. The NCR also includes the union territory of Delhi.

  • Haryana: Faridabad, Gurugram, Nuh, Rohtak, Sonepat, Rewari, Jhajjhar, Gurugram, Panipat, Palwal, Bhiwani, Charkhi Dadri, Mahendragarh, Jind and Karnal.
  • Uttar Pradesh: Meerut, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budh Nagar, Bulandshahr, Baghpat, Hapur, Shamli and Muzaffarnagar.
  • Rajasthan: Alwar and Bharatpur.
  • Union Territory of Delhi: Delhi.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *